Multiple DUI Offenses

Car Keys and Alcohol

Multiple DUI Offenses – DUI Attorneys in Tacoma, WA

Washington DUI laws and penalties can vary widely depending on your age, your level of intoxication, whether you refused a breath test, and the number of previous DUIs on your record. The Washington state DUI law, RCW 46.61.5055., is a famously complex statute, which is just one of the reasons people charged with drunk or drugged driving try to find DUI attorneys near them for help fighting the charges.

Despite popular opinion, not everyone arrested for a DUI is an alcoholic or drug addict, and you deserve a criminal defense attorney who will fight for your rights to a strong DUI defense. Good people can still make terrible mistakes. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) once reported that 29.1 million Americans have driven while intoxicated in the past year. However, they have also found that of the 4,000 people arrested for drunk driving every day, 29% are repeat offenders.

Even a single DUI arrest comes with significant legal and financial penalties, but drivers charged with multiple DUIs are facing even more severe consequences. Even if second and third DUIs are charged as gross misdemeanors in Washington, the defendant can still be sentenced to 364 days in prison and face a four-year driver’s license suspension.

As if that wasn’t enough, drivers convicted of multiple DUIs are more likely to be featured on the news, which means that on top of the legal penalties, these DUI offenders are subject to public shaming and all the social and professional consequences that come with it. Don’t wait to start preparing a DUI defense; contact the The Law Offices of Barbara A. Bowden in Tacoma, Washington, while you still can.

Washington DUI Penalties for Repeat Offenders

While a first DUI charge can sometimes be plead down to a lesser charge, Washington courts often treat multiple DUI offenders like criminals. You will usually only be charged with a felony DUI if this is your fifth DUI arrest within 10 years, or if you caused harm to another person, were previously convicted of a felony DUI, or were convicted of vehicular assault/homicide in the past.

Even so, Washington minimum penalties for second and third DUI charges shouldn’t be taken lightly. With the mandatory minimum/maximum penalties for these charges, repeat offenders will need a strong DUI defense strategy. Contact The Law Offices of Barbara A. Bowden today to get started.

Washington DUI Penalties for Second Offenses
Blood Alcohol Content Less Than 0.15% OR No Test Results

If you are convicted of a second DUI in Washington within seven years, then you will be facing at least 30 days in jail, which are to be served consecutively. The maximum jail time is 364 days and fines up to $5,000. Additionally, you will be facing 60 days of electronic home monitoring, a two year license suspension, having an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle, and five years on probation.

Second DUI Offense With BAC Above 0.15% or Breath Test Refusal

For drivers who either refused the breath test or blew above 0.15%, the minimum jail time is 45 consecutive days, with a maximum jail time of 364 days. Instead of two years, you will be facing a three year driver’s license suspension, enhanced fines, possible court-ordered drug or alcohol monitoring/treatment, and five years on probation.

Third and Fourth DUI Offense
BAC Less Than 0.15% OR No Test Results

Drivers convicted of their third or fourth drunk driving charge will have to serve a minimum of 90 consecutive days in jail, or a maximum of 364 days. Fines range from $1,805 to $5,000, as well as a three-year license suspension followed by up to 10 years with an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle. Again, these drivers will remain on probation for five years.

Third and Fourth DUI Offense
BAC Higher Than 0.15% OR Test Refusal

These drivers will be facing at least 120 days in jail and a maximum jail time of 364 days, as well as up to 150 days of electronic home monitoring. Fines and fees range from $2,605 to $5,000 as well as a four-year license suspension and five years of probation. In some cases, a Washington judge will order mandatory drug or alcohol treatment, as well.

Fifth or More DUI Within 10 Years

There was once a time when chronic drunk drivers would never face a felony charge. That is no longer the case. In Washington, a fifth DUI in 10 years will be charged as a felony, with extremely severe probation requirements (and additional jail time imposed for probation violations), an extended period of 24/7 sobriety monitoring or treatment, and up to five years in prison. In fact, compared to many other states, Washington felony DUI penalties are on the lenient side.

Need a Strong Repeat DUI Defense in Washington?

Don’t forget that in addition to the legal penalties for repeat drunk driving convictions, many people suffer social and professional consequences as well. People have lost jobs, marriages, and retirement funds due to chronic DUI offenses. However, just because you’ve been charged with a second or third DUI, that doesn’t mean your life is over.

You deserve a DUI attorney who will listen to your side of the story and work with you to come up with the best possible DUI defense for your charges. It is crucial to consider every possible option when preparing a repeat DUI defense, and the Tacoma DUI attorneys with The Law Offices of Barbara A. Bowden will defend your rights every step of the way.

If you’re ready to start moving forward from a DUI arrest, then it’s time to contact The Law Offices of Barbara A. Bowden today.